Filming Abroad during COVID-19 Pandemic

Download as PDF 

At a time when travel restrictions, social distancing, and hygiene precautions reshape our industry, PSN is doubling up its efforts to remain your one-stop shop for trusted shoot support worldwide. Borders are opening up gradually to permit the traveling in of directors, producers, stakeholders, and talent to select film hubs. International shoots are underway worldwide thanks to remote film production with our production service Partners in 50 territories.
 
Click to read about approaches to remote film production our PSN Partners have executed before and during the pandemic.
 
Click to consult budgetary considerations when preparing a production brief and bid to film abroad during the pandemic.
 
Click to review safety measures PSN Partners are taking to uphold client, talent, and crew confidence in live action filming abroad.
 
Click / scroll to view and up-to-date list of major film hubs where cameras are rolling and within what parameters.
 
Don't hesitate to ask us for further details.


Where cameras are rolling now - updated November 30, 2020
Check with local Partners for further details

Territory Live Action Filming from Covid-19 Experience Crew/cast pax limit Studio shoot Location shoot Remote 
streaming
Domestic Travel Foreign inbound travel Contact
Argentina

Now

Bid & Prep 20 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
No No Mauro
argentina@productionservicenetwork.com
Australia

Now

Domino's /
Queensland Toursim /
Queensland
Government /
Kina Bank /
Subway

 Varies Yes  Yes Domino's /
Queensland Toursim
Partial Closed Andrew
australia@productionservicenetwork.com
Austria Now Bid & Prep 100 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open  Open only to
EU and UK.
Covid-19 neg. req. of ES, RS,PT, RO, HR +
Paris and Prague.

Closed to others.

Ivan
austria@productionservicenetwork.com
Brazil Now Visa UK / Pearson /
Corona beer film
Varies  Yes   Possible Corona beer Partial  Open with
Ancine permit.
5 working days
to process.
Covid-19 neg.
recommended.
Daniel
brazil@productionservicenetwork.com
Bulgaria Now TVCs for 2 Heineken brands None Yes  Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open No restrictions
for people 
coming from
EU-Schengen
countries,
UK, NI, AU,
CA, NZ.
PCR-neg. w/i
72 hours before
arrival req. of others.
No quarantine.

Christopher
bulgaria@productionservicenetwork.com

Canada

Now TVCs for
car, food, 
homecare, and 
pharma products.
Episodic series.
50 Yes Yes 4 US projects
w/ director
on set and
remote
stream to agency/client.
2 US projects
w/ remote
stream to
director/agency/
client.

Open Yes for US director 
& producer with
14-days quarantine
at arrival in Canada.
Restrictions vary
for other countries.
Mathieu
canada@productionservicenetwork.com

Chile

Now Bid & Prep 50 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open

Open.
No quarantine
for foreigners with
 PCR negative
test result
72 hours
before entry.

Ana Luz
chile@productionservicenetwork.com
China Now

Canada Goose TVC
Oppo Reno 4
film & stills

None Yes   Yes Canada Goose / Oppo Reno 4  Partial  Closed  Tiger
china@productionservicenetwork.com
Colombia Now Corona beer film /
Banco Popular /
Alpina /
ETB
50 Yes Possible Corona beer /
ETB streamed
to agency & client
By land
only.
No flights.
Partial Juan Pablo
colombia@productionservicenetwork.com
Costa Rica  Now Bid & Prep  50  Yes  Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Partial Luis V.
costarica@productionservicenetwork.com
Croatia Now Bid & Prep 40 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open Ivan P.
croatia@productionservicenetwork.com
Cuba Now Bid & Prep 

20 on 
main island.
No limit on
Cuban Keys.

Yes  Possible Tech ready
& tested
Open Open.
PCR testing done
on arrival.
Luis L.
cuba@productionservicenetwork.com
Czech Republic Now Bid & Prep 300 Yes  Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to
Covid-19
negative
Petr
czechrepublic@productionservicenetwork.com
Denmark Now Audi TVC Varies Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Partial Open to
Covid-19
negative
Mikkel
denmark@productionservicenetwork.com
Egypt Now Cono Snacks /
Rusky
None Yes Yes Cono Snacks
stream
for EU client
Open Open Amin
egypt@productionservicenetwork.com
France Now Bid & Prep 50 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to EU
and JP, KR, AU, NZ, TH, CA, DZ, GE, ME, MA, RW, RS, TN, and UY.
China possible if reciprocal.
Closed to
red zone
countries
like US, Brazil, Russia.
Nico
france@productionservicenetwork.com
Germany Now Bid & Prep None Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open

Open to EU.
Others req. neg.
test on arrival.

Helmut
germany@productionservicenetwork.com
Greece Now TVC for
BT Sport /
UNICEF
Varies Yes Possible Remote stream
to director,
producer,
agency, and
client.
Open Open.
Click here
for details.
Andreas
greece@productionservicenetwork.com
Hungary Now Bid & Prep None Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to
business visa
holders.
Persons with symptoms
may face
10-day quarantine
upon entry
and require
double Covid-19
neg. results.
Zoltan
hungary@productionservicenetwork.com
Iceland Now HP TVC /
drama series 
200 Yes  Yes  HP TVC Open Open to
Covid-19
negative +
tracing app.
Beggi
iceland@productionservicenetwork.com
India Now Durex TVC
3 x TVC: Unilever and Marico homeproducts, ITC food product.
Snapchat.
None Yes Possible Snapchat streamed to director / producer & agency / client. TVC streamed to agency / client. Open Closed Roopak
india@productionservicenetwork.com
Ireland Now TVC for
global alcohol
brand.
Feature film.
Varies Yes Yes Live stream to
agency and client.
Director on set
Open Open to MT, FI, NO, IT, HU, EE, LV, LT, CY, SK, GR, GL, GI, MC, SM.
14-day
quarantine
for others
Dara
ireland@productionservicenetwork.com
Israel Now Industrial

20 outdoors,
10 indoors

Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Restricted Closed Meirav
israel@productionservicenetwork.com
Italy Now

Film & stills
for int'l
household product /
Nike

Varies Yes Possible EU stream for
household product /
US stream for
Nike
Open

Open with
exceptions.
14-day
quarantine
may permit access
for US, RU, IN, BR, TR, SA, ZA, QA, TW.
Same for select
regions of 
HR, GR, MT, ES.

Luca
italy@productionservicenetwork.com
Jordan

Now

Feature film

None

Yes Yes TBD Open Open to AT, CA, CN, CY, DK, EE, GE, DE, GL, IS, IE, IT, LV, LT, MY, MT, NZ, NO, CH, TW, TH, MC with double Covid-19 negative results. Johnny
jordan@productionservicenetwork.com
Lithuania

Now

Bid & Prep

Unlimited crew.
300 cast.

Yes Possible Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to AT, BE, BG, HR, CY, CZ, DK, EE, ES, FI, FR, DE, GR, HU, IS, IT, LV, LI, LU, MT, NL, NO, PL, RO, SK, SI, CH, UK.
Others
14-day
quarantine
Ramojus
lithuania@productionservicenetwork.com
Malaysia

Now

Bid & Prep 20 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Closed Pete
malaysia@productionservicenetwork.com
Mexico

Now

Random House Varies Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open by air Ari
mexico@productionservicenetwork.com
Netherlands Now Bid & Prep 30 Yes Possible Tech ready
& tested
Open Closed Maarten
netherlands@productionservicenetwork.com
New Zealand Now Bid & Prep None Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Closed, but
permitting
filmmaker
exceptions with
14-day
quarantine
Iris
newzealand@productionservicenetwork.com
Norway Now Oreo 50 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to Scandinavia.
Others
10-day
quarantine
Eirik
norway@productionservicenetwork.com
Peru Now Bid & Prep None Yes No  Tech ready
& tested
Open Closed Alejandro
peru@productionservicenetwork.com
Philippines Now in
provinces
with low
virus spread.
Bid & Prep 50 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open  Open only to
Philippine 
resident or w/
business/work
visa issued
before pandemic.
Exceptions 
possible
for large-scale,
weeks-long
productions
allowing 30+ days
for gov't approval
Stefano
philippines@productionservicenetwork.com 
Poland Now TVCs for
pharma, bank, 
and Swisscom.
None Yes Yes Pharma shoot for Euro client Closed Open to EU. Julia
poland@productionservicenetwork.com
Portugal Now Bid & prep None Yes Yes Tech ready & tested Partial

Open to EU/
Schengen area +
JP, KR, AU, NZ
TH, CA, DZ, GE,
ME, MA, RW, RS,
TN, and UY.
China possible in
case of reciprocity.
Other countries
accepted with
work travel
permit.
Negative
Covid-19
test
required.

Michael
portugal@productionservicenetwork.com
Romania Now

Xiaomi / Penny / Emag /
Fashion Days /
Orkla Foods /
Lidl /
P&G

None Yes Yes

Xiaomi / Penny /
Emag /
Fashion Days /
Orkla Foods /
Lidl / 
P&G

Open

Open to 
Covid-19
negative

Giuliano
romania@productionservicenetwork.com
Serbia Now

Italian cheese
product TVC

None Yes Yes Italian cheese
product TVC
Open Open Georgiana
serbia@productionservicenetwork.com
Singapore Now Lego film 30 Yes Yes Lego Open Closed Pete
malaysia@productionservicenetwork.com
South Africa Now TVCs for
Coca-Cola / Unilever product / food product
75 Yes Possible Stream to UK director and Chicago agency for Unilever.
Stream to SE director and NL agency for int'l beverage.
Stream to UK
director and
US agency for
food product.
Open Open Jon
southafrica@productionservicenetwork.com
South Korea Now Instagram None  Yes  Possible Tech ready
& tested 
Open  14-day
quarantine
Kimi
southkorea@productionservicenetwork.com
Spain Now Bayer product TVC.

Industry
recommendation
of 25.
Decided by
local
production
service based on
nature of shoot.
Yes Yes Stream to 
agency
& client.

Open.
Travel for work
not subject to
restrictions on
travel
between selected regions.

Open to EU /
Schengen area + JP,
KR, AU, NZ, TH,
CA, DZ, GE, ME,
MA, RW, RS, TN,
and UY.
China possible
in case of
reciprocity.
Other countries
accepted with
work travel
permit.
PCR neg test
within 72 hrs
before arrival
required.

Michael
spain@productionservicenetwork.com
Sweden Now Bid & Prep 50 Yes Possible Tech ready
& tested
Partial Partial Joakim
sweden@productionservicenetwork.com
Thailand Now Diesel / 
Doco shoot
50 Yes Possible The 5th Wave
for Columbia Pictures
Partial Open to KR, CN, JP, SG, HK.
Double COVID-19
negative test and
tracking app 
required of others.
Addl. 14-day
quarantine +
special permit for
pandemic
red zones.
Fred
thailand@productionservicenetwork.com
Turkey Now Unilever TVC /
pharma TVC /
Belgium series
None Yes Yes Remote stream
to agency 
& client
Open Open Chad
turkey@productionservicenetwork.com
UAE Now LG / EXPO /
Emarate
None Yes Yes Stream to 
director for
EXPO film
Open Open to
Covid-19
negative
Shane
uae@productionservicenetwork.com
UK Now

Motion & stills
commercial projects for
Puig /
XTB brand ambassador film

Varies Yes Possible McDonald's /
Puig / XTB
Englad 
operates 
a tier system for the general public. Productions can go ahead whether in a
tier 1, 2, or 3 zone.
Accommodations are open
APA: directors, dops, and artists
entering the UK
for a production
are exempt
from isolation.
Can attend
production
upon arrival.
Production company
letter confirming
the project &
their details
required.
Whilst in the UK,
they're required to
remain in their
production bubble
so productions can
go ahead.
Carly
uk@productionservicenetwork.com
Ukraine Now Kaspi Bank 50 Yes Yes Stream to agency /
client in KZ
Open Open Dmitry
ukraine@productionservicenetwork.com
Uruguay Now Toyota stills 23 Yes Possible  Tech ready
& tested
Partial  Partial  Andres
uruguay@productionservicenetwork.com 
USA East & West Now Porsche TVC Varies Yes Possible Tech ready
& tested
Partial Open to Japan Eric
usa-eastwest@productionservicenetwork.com
USA Florida Now

TVCs for gaming, banking, and retail.
Walgreens.

Varies Yes Possible Director on set
w/ stream to agency & client.
Open Partial Michael S.
usa-florida@productionservicenetwork.com
USA Hawaii Now Bid & Prep Varies Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Partial Partial Ric
usa-hawaii@productionservicenetwork.com
Vietnam Now TVCs for Unilever / P&G /
Mead Johnson /
Airis
None Yes Yes Stream to P&G director, agency, and client in SG. 
Stream to Unilever director in TH, agency in SG, clients in IN.
Stream to 
director in Hungary,
clients & agency
in Philippines.
Open Closed Chi-Minh
vietnam@productionservicenetwork.com
 
PSN Partners update this table regularly. Reach out to discuss with Production Liaisons in your time zone or directly to our production service Partners for more details on their latest. We’re here to provide you with the ground truth from the production trenches in 50 major film hubs worldwide. And execute your project safely in the most suitable locations.