Filming Abroad during COVID-19 Pandemic

Download as PDF 

Live action filming is underway in most major film hubs worldwide. Directors, producers, stakeholders, and talent are traveling to select foreign film sets, often with work permits facilitated by PSN Partners. Remote streaming workflows with low latency are further enabling the creation of content with our boots-on-the-ground production service in 50 territories.
 
 
Click to read about remote shoots that don't look it - all executed by our PSN Partners during the pandemic.
 
Click to consult budgetary considerations when preparing a production brief and bid to film abroad during the pandemic.
 
Click to review safety measures PSN Partners are taking to uphold client, talent, and crew confidence in live action filming.
 
Click / scroll to view and up-to-date list of major film hubs where cameras are rolling and within what parameters.
 
Stay healthy, be innovative, work together!


Where cameras are rolling now - updated February 15, 2021
Check with local Partners for further detail

Territory Live Action Filming from Covid-19 Experience Crew/cast pax limit Studio shoot Location shoot Remote 
streaming
Domestic Travel Foreign inbound travel Contact
Argentina

Now

Pharma film 30 pax
indoors.
No limits
outdoors.
Yes Yes Avatar director
on set and
remote stream
to director /
agency / client
(25+ people
connected)
Open Open to travelers 
with work visa, 
Covid neg test result
w/in 72 hours
before arrival
and Covid
medical insurance.
Mauro
argentina@productionservicenetwork.com
Australia

Now

Domino's /
Queensland Toursim /
Queensland
Government/
Kina Bank /
Subway /
Queen Vanilla
Essence /
McDonald's / Solahart / 
Twisties PNG/
Frankie 4 Shoes

 None
where
social
distancing and PPE
are in place
Yes  Yes

Domino's /
Queensland Toursim /
Vanilla Essence /
Ryobi /
Twisties / PNG

Open Closed to all,
including foreign
nationals.
Andrew
australia@productionservicenetwork.com
Austria Now L'Oreal 
Women of Worth /
IQOS-
Philip Morris
branded content.
None
where
social distancing
and PPE
are in place
Yes Yes 1 x stream to
director and
stakeholders.
1 x stream to
stakeholders
w/ director 
on set.
Open  Open to business travel from AU, FI, IE, IS, JP, KR, NO, NZ, UY, and the Vatican.
Covid-19 neg. result req of others.
Ban on fligths from
BR, UK, ZA.
Ivan
austria@productionservicenetwork.com
Brazil Now Visa UK / Pearson /
Corona beer film /
Wooshii / Impact
20 pax 
on set.
Others 
in rotation
& holding
space.
Yes   Yes Corona beer, Lego, Pearsons. Open  Open with 
Covid-19 neg &
Ancine permit
requiring
5 working days.
Closed to
travelers from
(or having spent past
14 days in) UK, ZA.
Daniel
brazil@productionservicenetwork.com
Bulgaria Now TVCs for 2 Heineken brands None Yes  Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open

No restrictions
for people 
coming from
EU-Schengen
countries,
AU, CA, NI, NZ. UK, 
PCR-neg. w/i
72 hours 
before  arrival
req. of others.
No quarantine.

Christopher
bulgaria@productionservicenetwork.com

Canada

Now 9 US client TVCs
for car, food, 
homecare, and 
pharma products.
Also
episodic series.
50 Yes Yes 6 with director
onset and 
agency/client
remote
+3 with 
director/agency/
client remote.

Open Yes for US director 
& producer with
14-day quarantine
at arrival in Canada.
Restrictions vary
for other countries.
Mathieu
canada@productionservicenetwork.com

Chile

Now Bid & Prep 50 pax
on set
with space.
Others 
in rotation
& holding 
space.
Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Partial

Neg PCR test
req. for entry.
10-day quarantine
on arrival.
2nd neg. result
at 7th day 
lifts quarantine.
Covid health 
ins. required.

Ana Luz
chile@productionservicenetwork.com
China Now

Canada Goose TVC
Oppo Reno 4
film & stills

None Yes   Yes Canada Goose / Oppo Reno 4  Partial  Closed  Tiger
china@productionservicenetwork.com
Colombia Now Corona beer film /
Banco Popular /
Alpina /
ETB / Didi
50 Yes Possible Corona beer film 
streamed to
director/agency/
client. 
ETB streamed
to agency/client.
Open Open Juan Pablo
colombia@productionservicenetwork.com
Costa Rica  Now Bid & Prep  50  Yes  Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open w/
Covid medical insurance
(locally available)
Luis V.
costarica@productionservicenetwork.com
Croatia Now TVCs x 6,
incl Starodvorie
None Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open Ivan P.
croatia@productionservicenetwork.com
Cuba Now Bid & Prep 

50

Yes  Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open w/
5-day hotel
quarantine.
PCR testing done
on arrival.
Luis L.
cuba@productionservicenetwork.com
Czech Republic Now Bid & Prep None Yes  Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to
Covid-19
negative
Petr
czechrepublic@productionservicenetwork.com
Denmark Now Audi TVC /
HBO doco
Varies Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Partial Open to
Covid-19
negative
Mikkel
denmark@productionservicenetwork.com
Egypt Now Cono Snacks /
Rusky
None Yes Yes Cono Snacks
stream
for EU director
& post
Open Open,
PCR test
w/in 72 hours
of arrival.
Amin
egypt@productionservicenetwork.com
France Now Bid & Prep None Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Schengen closed.
7-day
quarantine
and Covid neg test
result required
for all travelers..
Nico
france@productionservicenetwork.com
Germany Now 12+ TVCs
& 2 feature films
None Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open

Open with
varying state
test reqs.
Travelers from
high-risk areas
may need
5-day
quarantine 
with test.

Helmut
germany@productionservicenetwork.com
Greece Now TVC for
BT Sport /
UNICEF
1 pax 
per 4 m2
Yes Possible Remote stream
to director,
producer,
agency, and
client.
Open Open w/
7-day quarantine.
Click here
for details.
Andreas
greece@productionservicenetwork.com
Hungary Now Bid & Prep

None
where 
social distancing
and PPE
are in place.

Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to
business visa
holders.
Persons with symptoms
may face
10-day quarantine
upon entry
and require
double Covid-19
neg. results.
Zoltan
hungary@productionservicenetwork.com
Iceland Now HP TVC +
3 x drama series 
50 pax on closed set.
Others
in rotation
& holding
space

Yes  Yes  HP TVC Open Open w/
test-driven
quarantine.
Covid-19 test
upon arrival &
5 days later.
Double neg result
lifts quarantine.
Beggi
iceland@productionservicenetwork.com
India Now Durex TVC
3 x TVC: Unilever and Marico home products, ITC food product.
Snapchat.
None Yes Possible Snapchat streamed to director / producer & agency / client. TVC streamed to agency / client. Open Neg. Covid test
req. for entry.
Quarantine of
7-14 days.
Roopak
india@productionservicenetwork.com
Ireland Now TVC for
global alcohol
brand /
Covid lead for
The Last Duel,
Ridley Scott
feature film.
None Yes Yes w/
some 
restrictions
on private,
indoor
spaces,
Live stream to
agency and client.
Director on set
Open
for filming.
Covid neg req'd
w/in 72 hrs prior
to arrival. 
Open to EU
'green zone' w/out
restriction.
14-day quarantine
for UK, ZA, and many LATAM
countries.
5-day quarantine
for others w/
Covid neg result
to lift restriction.
Dara
ireland@productionservicenetwork.com
Israel Now Industrial

20 outdoors,
10 indoors

Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open to
production
with permit.
Closed. Meirav
israel@productionservicenetwork.com
Italy Now

Film & stills
for int'l
household product /
Albert Heijn
supermarket
TVC /
Nike

None Yes Possible Stream to
EU director, DOP, agency,
client for 
supermarket
and household
product TVCs /
US stream for
Nike
Open

Open with
Covid neg.
48 hours
before arrival to
AD, AT, BE, BG, CH, CY, CZ, DE, DK, EE, ES, FI, FR, GR, HR, HU, IE, IS, LI, LV, LT, LU, MC, MT, NL, NO, PL, PT, RO, SE, SI, SK.
14-day
quarantine
and then
Covid neg test for
AU, JP, KR, NZ, RW, SG, TH, UK, UY.
Consult for others.

Luca
italy@productionservicenetwork.com
Jordan

Now

Feature film

None

Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open

Special permit req
for filmakers
to reduce the
7-day quarantine.
Neg. Covid req
before and upon
arrival.
Click for specific
visa parameters.

Johnny
jordan@productionservicenetwork.com
Lithuania

Now

Bid & Prep

None.

Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to all EU
& EEE countries.
Some restrictions
for BE, NL, UK.
Others
14-day
quarantine
Ramojus
lithuania@productionservicenetwork.com
Malaysia

Now

Bid & Prep 20 Yes Indoor only Tech ready
& tested
Open to
filmmakers
Open with
10- to 14-day
quarantine
Pete
malaysia@productionservicenetwork.com
Mexico

Now

Random House /
Stella Artois.
31+ days filming
in total.
Varies Yes Yes Stream to
director/agency/
client for Stella TVC
Open Open by air Ari
mexico@productionservicenetwork.com
Netherlands Now Bid & Prep 100 Yes Possible Tech ready
& tested
Open Closed Maarten
netherlands@productionservicenetwork.com
New Zealand Now Bid & Prep None Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to
filmakers with
14-day
quarantine
Iris
newzealand@productionservicenetwork.com
Norway Now Oreo 50 Yes with 10 pax limit Yes with
10 pax
limit
Tech ready
& tested
Open 10-day
quarantine
Eirik
norway@productionservicenetwork.com
Peru Now but limited
to 10-hr day and
only talent aged 18-65.
Bid & Prep None Yes No Tech ready
& tested
Closed Closed Alejandro
peru@productionservicenetwork.com
Philippines Now in
provinces
with low
virus spread.
Bid & Prep 50 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open  Open only to
Philippine 
resident or w/
business/work
visa issued
before pandemic.
Exceptions 
possible
for large-scale,
weeks-long
productions
allowing 30+ days
for gov't approval
Stefano
philippines@productionservicenetwork.com 
Poland Now 8 foreign and
4 domestic
client shoots
 Swisscom.
None Yes Yes Streaming 
in most all
projects
during
pandemic.
Open Open with
10-day
quarantine 
for EU
travelers.
Other nationals
req work permits
w/ excessive
processing time.
Julia
poland@productionservicenetwork.com
Portugal Now Toyota 
commercial / 
3-week 
feature
film shoot.
None Yes Yes Tech ready & tested Partial

Open to EU/
Schengen area +
AU, CA, DZ, GE, JP, KR, MA, ME, RS, RW, TH, TN, UY, and NZ.
China possible in
case of reciprocity.
Other countries
accepted with
work travel
permit.
Negative
Covid-19
test
required.

James
portugal@productionservicenetwork.com
Romania Now

Xiaomi / Penny / Emag/
Fashion Days/
 Lidl (2x) /
Always P&G /
Orkla Foods /
Vodafone

None Yes Yes

Streaming to
agency / client
for all TVCs.

Open

Special permit
for film crew.
Covid-19 neg
before arrival.

Giuliano
romania@productionservicenetwork.com
Serbia Now

Deliziosa TVC

None Yes Yes Deliziosa TVC Open Open Georgiana
serbia@productionservicenetwork.com
Singapore Now Lego film 30 Yes Yes Lego Open Closed Pete
malaysia@productionservicenetwork.com
South Africa Now TVCs for
Coca-Cola / Unilever product / food product
75 Yes Possible Stream to UK director and Chicago agency for Unilever.
Stream to SE director and NL agency for int'l beverage.
Stream to UK
director and
US agency for
food product.
Open Open Jon
southafrica@productionservicenetwork.com
South Korea Now Instagram
influencers / 
Shopee boy
band film.
None  Possible  Possible Korean boy band Open to
filmmakers
Open
with special
permit approval.
Kimi
southkorea@productionservicenetwork.com
Spain Now TVC for
Mastercard /
American Airlines, Ford, Robitussin, Captain Birdseye,
Sensodyne, Doritos, Abbott.
Stills & online
for Camper.
BTS iviews
of Below Deck
series.
German TV series
Love Island
w/ 350 crew &
cast - no Covid
cases.

None.
Bubbles and
rotation
on set
the norm.
Yes Yes Stream from set
to director 
in US for 1 x TVC
and 1 x BTS iviews.
Stream to 
agency/client
in the US / UK 
for 7 TVCs.

Open to
essential workers, 
including
permitted
filmmakers.

Open entry
w/ neg.
Covid test
for travelers
from EU +
Schengen area + AD, AU, CA, JP, KR, MC, NZ, RW, SG, SM, TH, & VA.
Work travel permit
(7 work days
to process)
req. for
US, AR, BR, MX, and those
not listed.
CN subject to
reciprocity.
Temp. closed to UK.

Lyndsay
spain@productionservicenetwork.com
Sweden Now Multiple
car TVCs
50 Yes Possible Tech ready
& tested
Partial Partial Joakim
sweden@productionservicenetwork.com
Thailand Now Diesel, Vodafone, &
Trocaire TVCs/
Doco shoot /
3x studio
features slated
for Q1-2 2021.
None Yes Yes

The 5th Wave
feature for Columbia Pictures /
Trocaire TVC 
to Ireland &
Vodafone TVC
to Italy.

Open Double
COVID-19 neg
+ 14-day
quarantine &
tracking app.

Fred
thailand@productionservicenetwork.com
Turkey Now Unilever TVC/
pharma TVC /
Belgium series
None Yes Yes Remote stream
to agency 
& client
Open Open Chad
turkey@productionservicenetwork.com
UAE Now LG / EXPO /
Emarate
None Yes Yes Stream to 
director for
EXPO film
Open Open to
Covid-19
negative
Shane
uae@productionservicenetwork.com
UK Now

Motion & stills
commercial projects for
Puig /
XTB brand ambassador film

Varies Yes Possible McDonald's /
Puig / XTB
Commercial
production
continues.
Productions
feasible in a tier
1, 2, 3, 4, 
or 5 zone.

All incoming
travellers must 'home'
quarantine
at ID'd address.
COVID neg result
w/in 3 days
before travel
+ travel test
package booking reference # req.
to ensure COVID
tests are done
before day 2
& on or after
day 8 of
quarantine.
TEST TO RELEASE:
arrivals into England
can quarantine
for at least 5 days
& if the test
is negative,
they may then end
quarantine
but must still
take tests 
on day 2
& day 8
as above.
EXCEPTIONS:
all previous
travel
corridors are
suspended
& the exemption
to advertising
production is
suspended.
Countries
from which
travel to the UK
is banned
can be found here.
Complete new rules
found here.

Carly
uk@productionservicenetwork.com
Ukraine Now Kaspi Bank 50 Yes Yes Stream to agency /
client in KZ
Open Open Dmitry
ukraine@productionservicenetwork.com
Uruguay Now Toyota stills Varies Yes Possible  Tech ready
& tested
Open  Partial  Andres
uruguay@productionservicenetwork.com 
USA East & West Now
(pause
recommended in
LA County)
Porsche /
Stella Artois
Varies Yes Possible TVCs streamed to director/agency
/client
Partial Open to travelers
with a work visa
that have not been
in countries on the
exclusion list
14 days 
before entry.
Eric
usa-eastwest@productionservicenetwork.com
USA Florida Now

TVCs for gaming, banking, and retail.
Walgreens.

Varies Yes Possible Director on set
w/ stream to agency & client.
Open Open to travelers
with a work visa
that have not been
in countries on the
exclusion list
14 days 
before entry.
Michael S.
usa-florida@productionservicenetwork.com
USA Hawaii Now Project with drone None Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Yes. Must board
with Covid
neg done w/in
72 hours of
departure 
or 
quarantine
10 days.
Open to travelers
with a work visa
that have not been
in countries on the
exclusion list
14 days 
before entry.
Ric
usa-hawaii@productionservicenetwork.com
Vietnam Now TVCs for Unilever / P&G /
Mead Johnson /
Airis
None Yes Yes 3 x TVC
remotely streamed to
director, agency,
and client
in multiple
countries.
Open Closed Chi-Minh
vietnam@productionservicenetwork.com
 
PSN Partners update this table regularly. Reach out to discuss with Production Liaisons in your time zone or directly to our production service Partners for more details on their latest. We’re here to provide you with the ground truth from the production trenches in 50 major film hubs worldwide. And execute your project safely in the most suitable locations.

Industry organizations on COVID-19 measures, impact, and relief

Media coverage and industry webinars

Download as PDF 

Stay healthy, be strong, work together!