Filming Abroad during COVID-19 Pandemic

Download as PDF 

At a time when travel restrictions, social distancing, and hygiene precautions reshape our industry, PSN is doubling up its efforts to remain your one-stop shop for trusted shoot support worldwide. Borders are opening up gradually to permit the traveling in of directors, producers, stakeholders, and talent to select film hubs. International shoots are underway worldwide thanks to remote film production with our production service Partners in 50 territories.
 
Click to read about approaches to remote film production our PSN Partners have executed before and during the pandemic.
 
Click to consult budgetary considerations when preparing a production brief and bid to film abroad during the pandemic.
 
Click to review safety measures PSN Partners are taking to restore client, talent, and crew confidence in live action filming abroad.
 
Click / scroll to view and up-to-date list of major film hubs where cameras are rolling and within what parameters.
 
Don't hesitate to ask us for further details.


Where cameras are rolling now - updated July 3, 2020
Check with local Partners for further details

Territory Live Action Filming from Covid-19 Experience Crew/cast pax limit Studio shoot Location shoot Remote 
streaming
Domestic Travel Foreign inbound travel Contact
Australia

Now

Domino's /
Queensland Toursim
 Varies Yes  Yes Domino's /
Queensland Toursim
Partial Closed Andrew
australia@productionservicenetwork.com
Austria Now Bid & Prep 100 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open  Open only to EU.
Covid-19 neg. req. of SE, PT, and UK.
Closed to others
by air.
Ivan
austria@productionservicenetwork.com
Brazil Now Visa UK / Pearson Varies  Yes   Possible Tech ready
& tested
Partial  Closed Daniel
brazil@productionservicenetwork.com
Bulgaria Now TVCs for 2 Heineken brands None Yes  Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to most of EU.
14-day
quarantine for SE, UK, NL, PT.
Christopher
bulgaria@productionservicenetwork.com

Canada

Now Car, food, and
homecare product
TVCs
15 Yes Possible 2 US projects
w/ director
on set and
remote
stream to agency/client.
1 US project
w/ remote
stream to
director/agency/
client.

Partial Open from
21 July
Mathieu
canada@productionservicenetwork.com

Chile

Future TBD
date
Bid & Prep 50 Yes Possible Tech ready
& tested
Partial Closed Ana Luz
chile@productionservicenetwork.com
China Now

Oppo Reno 4
film & stills

None Yes   Yes Oppo Reno 4  Partial  Closed  Tiger
china@productionservicenetwork.com
Costa Rica  Now Bid & Prep  40  Yes  Possible Tech ready
& tested
Partial  Partial  Luis V.
costarica@productionservicenetwork.com
Croatia Now Bid & Prep 40 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open Ivan P.
croatia@productionservicenetwork.com
Cuba Now Bid & Prep  40  Yes  Possible Tech ready
& tested
Open Partial Luis L.
cuba@productionservicenetwork.com
Czech Republic Now Bid & Prep 300 Yes  Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to
Covid-19
negative
Petr
czechrepublic@productionservicenetwork.com
Denmark Now Bid & Prep Varies Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Partial Open to
Covid-19
negative
Mikkel
denmark@productionservicenetwork.com
Egypt Now Cono Snacks None Yes Possible Cono Snacks
for Euro client
Open Closed Amin
egypt@productionservicenetwork.com
France Now Bid & Prep 50 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to EU
and JP, KR, AU, NZ, TH, CA, DZ, GE, ME, MA, RW, RS, TN, and UY.
China possible if reciprocal.
Closed to
red zone
countries.
Nico
france@productionservicenetwork.com
Germany Now Bid & Prep None Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open

Open to EU.
Others req. neg.
test on arrival.

Helmut
germany@productionservicenetwork.com
Greece Now NGO film Varies Yes Possible NGO film
for Euro client
Open Open w/
select tests
upon arrival.
Andreas
greece@productionservicenetwork.com
Hungary Now Bid & Prep None Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to EU, CH, LI, RS, IS only Zoltan
hungary@productionservicenetwork.com
Iceland Now Bid & Prep  200 Yes  Yes  Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to
Covid-19
negative +
tracing app.
Beggi
iceland@productionservicenetwork.com
Ireland Now Bid & Prep Varies Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Partial 14-day
quarantine
Dara
ireland@productionservicenetwork.com
Israel Now Bid & Prep 20 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open 14-day
quarantine
Meirav
israel@productionservicenetwork.com
Italy Now

Film & stills
for int'l
household product /
Nike

Varies Yes Possible EU stream for
household product /
US stream for
Nike
Open Open Luca
italy@productionservicenetwork.com
Lithuania

Now

Bid & Prep

Unlimited crew.
300 cast.

Yes Possible Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to AT, BE, BG, HR, CY, CZ, DK, EE, ES, FI, FR, DE, GR, HU, IS, IT, LV, LI, LU, MT, NL, NO, PL, RO, SK, SI, CH, UK.
Others
14-day
quarantine
Ramojus
lithuania@productionservicenetwork.com
Malaysia

Now

Bid & Prep 20 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Closed Pete
malaysia@productionservicenetwork.com
Mexico

Now in select states

Random House Varies Yes Possible Tech ready
& tested
Open Open by air Ari
mexico@productionservicenetwork.com
Netherlands Now Bid & Prep 30 Yes Possible Tech ready
& tested
Open Closed Maarten
netherlands@productionservicenetwork.com
New Zealand Now Bid & Prep None Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open 14-day
quarantine
Iris
newzealand@productionservicenetwork.com
Norway Now Bid & Prep 50 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open to Scandinavia.
Others
10-day
quarantine
Eirik
norway@productionservicenetwork.com
Poland Now TVCs for
bank and pharma
None Yes Yes Pharma shoot for Euro client Closed Open to EU.
Others w/
work permit.
Julia
poland@productionservicenetwork.com
Portugal Now Int'l streamer
shoot
None Yes Yes Streamer in UK Open Open to EU
and JP, KR, AU, NZ, TH, CA, DZ, GE, ME, MA, RW, RS, TN, and UY.
China possible
in case of 
reciprocity.
USA possible
with work permit.
Closed to other
red zone
countries.
Marko
portugal@productionservicenetwork.com
Romania Now Lidl / Penny /
Orkla Foods /
P&G Always
None Yes Yes Lidl / Penny /
Orkla Foods /
P&G Always
Open

Open to 
Covid-19
negative

Giuliano
romania@productionservicenetwork.com
Serbia Now

Italian cheese
product TVC

None Yes Yes Italian cheese
product TVC
Open Open Georgiana
serbia@productionservicenetwork.com
Singapore Now Bid & Prep 30 Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Closed Pete
malaysia@productionservicenetwork.com
South Africa Now TVCs for Unilever product / Int'l beverage 50 Yes Possible Stream to UK director and Chicago agency for Unilever.
Stream to SE director and NL agency for int'l beverage.
Partial Closed Jon
southafrica@productionservicenetwork.com
South Korea Now Bid & Prep None  Yes  Possible Tech ready
& tested 
Open  14-day
quarantine
Kimi
southkorea@productionservicenetwork.com
Spain Now Bid & Prep Varies Yes Possible Tech ready
& tested
Open

Open to EU
and JP, KR, AU, NZ, TH, CA, DZ, GE, ME, MA, RW, RS, TN, and UY.
China possible
if reciprocal.
USA possible
with work permit.
Close to other
red zone
countries.

Celia
spain@productionservicenetwork.com
Sweden Now Bid & Prep 50 Yes Possible Tech ready
& tested
Partial Partial Joakim
sweden@productionservicenetwork.com
Thailand Now Diesel / 
Doco shoot
50 Yes Possible The 5th Wave
for Columbia Pictures
Partial Open to KR, CN, JP, SG, HK.
Double COVID-19
negative test and
tracking app 
required of others.
Addl. 14-day
quarantine +
special permit for
pandemic
red zones.
Fred
thailand@productionservicenetwork.com
Turkey Now Bid & Prep None Yes Yes Tech ready
& tested
Open Open Chad
turkey@productionservicenetwork.com
UAE Now LG / EXPO None Yes Yes Stream to 
director for
EXPO film
Open Open to
Covid-19
negative
Shane
uae@productionservicenetwork.com
UK Now Bid & Prep Varies Yes Possible McDonald's Open 14-day
quarantine
Carly
uk@productionservicenetwork.com
Ukraine Now Kaspi Bank 50 Yes Yes Stream to agency /
client in KZ
Open Open Dmitry
ukraine@productionservicenetwork.com
Uruguay Now Toyota stills 23 Yes Possible  Tech ready
& tested
Partial  Partial  Andres
uruguay@productionservicenetwork.com 
USA East & West Now Bid & Prep Varies Yes Possible Tech ready
& tested
Partial Open to Japan Eric
usa-eastwest@productionservicenetwork.com
USA Florida Now

TVCs for gaming, banking, and retail.

Varies Yes Possible Director on set
w/ stream to agency & client.
Open Partial Michael S.
usa-florida@productionservicenetwork.com
Vietnam Now TVCs for Unilever / P&G Downy Varies Yes Possible Stream to P&G director, agency, and client in SG. 
Stream to Unilever director in TH, agency in SG, clients in IN
Open Closed Chi-Minh
vietnam@productionservicenetwork.com
 
PSN Partners update this table regularly. Reach out to discuss with Production Liaisons in your time zone or directly to our production service Partners for more details on their latest. We’re here to provide you with the ground truth from the production trenches in 50 major film hubs worldwide. And execute your project safely in the most suitable locations.